Raising Capital? Avoid this Mistake! (And Other Useful Tips…)

VentureBeat recently published my editorial 6 Tips for Raising Capital in 2012. One of the most important tips I included was a warning not to break the ban on public solicitation of a private offering:

There’s a lot of euphoria out there now about the potential for crowd-funding to ease restrictions on obtaining startup capital. But nothing has yet been signed into law yet. For now, make sure you’re familiar with Regulation D, which governs who can invest in a private company. Reg D also puts strict limits on public advertising for private investment opportunities, so be sure that you’re not soliciting investments on a public medium such as Twitter or your blog.

Many entrepreneurs have no idea that Reg D exists — we sometimes hear from CapLinked users who ask how they can advertise their private deal room in tweets. (You can’t! It’s private for a reason.) Click here to read the other 5 tips that I shared.

49 thoughts on “Raising Capital? Avoid this Mistake! (And Other Useful Tips…)

    • Hi David, thanks for the kind words on the VentureBeat cmloun. We’ll soon be launching our new health care startup. Will be interested to see what you think!Best,Mark

  1. This ‘energy’ Phentermine user miss is actually the result
    of the drug being a member of the amphetamine ‘ or crystal meth ‘ family, with similar addictive effects.
    The examinations or checks advised by the doctor aree
    ultrasound examination, which allows to check the physical conduct of the child in mothers’ womb.
    Where you should purchase Phen375 ( Phentermine 37.

  2. Also, once you’ve found suitable Brea office movers,
    verify that they are indeed fully insured and licensed by consulting the California Public Utilities Commission.
    To get more information about chicago movers visit,.
    Make sure that is a professional parkour instructional video.

  3. After I originally commented I seem to have clicked
    the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I get four
    emails with the exact same comment. There has to be a means you can remove
    me from that service? Many thanks!

  4. There are many ways to make money, even in this recession.
    To buy this license, the franchisee pays a heavy amount to the franchisor, and besides
    this, pays a monthly charge for keeping that name.
    With franchising, not only can you achieve
    the rewarding experience that comes from owning your own business,
    you can be secure in knowing that your franchisor is invested in your success.

  5. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless imagine if
    you added some great graphics or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and videos,
    this blog could definitely be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Good blog!

  6. It is the best time to make some plans foor the lonmg run and it is time too
    be happy. Ihave leearn this submit and if I could I
    want to recommend youu few fascinating issues or suggestions.
    Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I want to learn more issues abou it!

  7. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  8. I was curious if you ever considered changing the page
    layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect
    with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images.

    Maybe you could space it out better?

  9. Q: The movie follows Princess Leyla and Prince Auda, the children of
    the two rivaling leaders, as they marry, in hopes of bringing their families together and end
    the violence in their land. If there is money associated, call up and ask about all
    of the costs. Their only concern was having a strong character for the
    story.

  10. Hello there, I discovered your blog by the use of Google even as
    looking for a similar matter, your website came up, it looks great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just became alert to your weblog thru Google, and found that it’s
    truly informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful in the event you proceed this in future.
    Numerous people can be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

  11. I got this աeb paǥe from my friend who shareԁ with me
    on the topic of this web ρage and at the moment this timе I am visiting
    this web page and reɑding very informative posts at this time.

  12. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i
    came to “return the favor”.I’m trying
    to find things to enhance my website!I suppose its ok to use
    a few of your ideas!!

  13. Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
    a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly.
    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both
    show the same outcome.

  14. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is
    rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

  15. you’re in point of fact a just right webmaster.
    The site loading speed is amazing. It kind of feels
    that you are doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece.
    you’ve performed a magnificent process in this matter!

  16. Howdy would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a fair price?

    Thank you, I appreciate it!

  17. Excellent blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally
    confused .. Any suggestions? Thank you!

  18. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied
    on the video to make your point. You definitely know
    what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you
    could be giving us something informative to read?

  19. It’ѕ a pity yߋu don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to
    this fantastic blog! І suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and
    aԀding your RSS feed to mƴ Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk aƄout
    this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  20. I just couldn’t leave your site prior to suggesting that
    I extremely enjoyed the standard info a person supply to your visitors?
    Is gonna be again incessantly in order to investigate
    cross-check new posts

  21. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally,
    it seems as though you relied on the video to make
    your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why
    throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could
    be giving us something enlightening to read?

  22. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed!
    Very useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot.
    I was seeking this particular info for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  23. I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else
    encountering problems with your website. It appears
    as though some of the written text within your posts
    are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too?
    This could be a problem with my browser because I’ve had this happen before.

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

